Celebrities read new and innovative science fiction to teens in the area at Froman Library on Sunday – Pasadena Weekender

Celebrity guests will gather at Vroman’s Bookstore in Pasadena on Sunday to read the best in original new science fiction writing by Los Angeles County high school students for the “Tomorrow Prize and Green Feather Award for Celebrity Reads and Honors.”

Last year’s first place winner, Gwendolyn Lopez of Pasadena High School, will present this year’s first place award.

Other award presenters include JPL engineer Boback Ferdowsi and novelists Liam Rivera and Kenan Norris. The event will open with performances by player Teremain, JPL engineer, and Steve Collins, Star Trek Picard’s technical advisor.

This event from 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM is free to attend with registration and open to the public. registration in: bit.ly/tomorrow-gfa-2022

Featured celebrity guests include: Rico E. Anderson (The Orville, Criminal Minds), JB Blank (Arkany, Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order), Shane Eastin (Los Angeles by Night, Illusion: Lies Inside), Bonnie Gordon (Star Trek Prodigy). , The Quest), Tamara Krinsky (Tomorrow’s World Today and Star Trek: First Contact), Allison Scagliotti (Warehouse 13, Stitchers), and Marcelo Tubert (Star Trek: The Next Generation, Jane the Virgin).

“The Tomorrow Prize and the Green Feather Award inspire and motivate high school students from diverse backgrounds and from every area of ​​Los Angeles County to test the limits of their imaginations and explore the issues they care about through science fiction writing,” says Omega Say- Rosalind Helfand, director of the Fi Awards.

Tomorrow’s Prize is an opportunity for students to shine as the thinkers of the future! Adolescent writers are encouraged to explore scientific, social, technological, environmental, ethical and philosophical topics and issues in their writing and always, at their core, to master the art of telling great stories.

The show will feature readings of seven compelling short stories by students, including two winning science fiction stories with environmental themes called the Green Feather Prize. The writers weave social and environmental justice themes into their stories and envision a future where the world looks very different than it does today. Finalists include Angel Bran (“House on Sand”), Amy Cervantes (“They’re Coming”), Tais Cortez (“Genetic Slumber”), Madison Kay (“Backstitching”), and Luna Prieto (“Mechanical”). Planet”) as well as Green Feather Prize winners Jonathan Kim (“The Seagulls Save Culver City”) and Jennifer Wu (“Eden”).

After the readings, the students will be honored and the three first prize winners announced.

The Tomorrow Prize and the Green Feather Award are two of the Omega Sci-Fi Awards, founded in 2014 by Sci-Fest LA. The Omega Awards for Science Fiction are now a program of the Pasadena-based nonprofit Light Bringer Project. The main sponsors are The Roddenberry Foundation and vfxNova. LA Parent Magazine The first-place winning story is published, and the Nature Nexus Institute is co-presenting the Green Feather Prize.

for more, click here.

Views after: